2022 AAHHE & ETS Outstanding Dissertations Competition (ODC)
Kurt M. Landgraf Outstanding Dissertation Award Recipients

Co-sponsored by
AAHHE and ETS share a vision of the future of Hispanics in higher education and a commitment to actions that can help them get there. Join us as we honor and congratulate this year's winners!

Kurt M. Landgraf Outstanding Dissertation Award, First Place Winner

Nora K. Rivera, PhD
Assistant Professor
Chapman University

Dissertation Title:
The Rhetorical Mediator: Understanding Agency in Indigenous Translation and Interpretation through Indigenous Approaches to UX Research 

Degree Discipline: Rhetoric and Composition
Degree Granting Institution: University of Texas at El Paso

Kurt M. Landgraf Outstanding Dissertation Award, Second Place Winner

Julio Caesar, PhD
Research, Evaluation and Assessment Department
Bloomington Public Schools

Dissertation Title:
Standardized Bilingual Assessments: A Means to Reduce Construct-Irrelevant Variance and Ethnic/Racial Stereotype Threat

Degree Discipline: Educational Psychology
Degree Granting Institution: University of Minnesota

Kurt M. Landgraf Outstanding Dissertation Award, Third Place Winner

Elena Sada, PhD
Program Director
Two-Way Immersion Network of Catholic Schools, Boston College

Dissertation Title:
A Narrative Analysis on Latino Male Youth's Identity and Self-advocacy in Connection to Career Preparation

Degree Discipline: Curriculum and Instruction, Bilingual and Multicultural Education
Degree Granting Institution: University of Connecticut



 For award recipients from other years from 2021 to 2008, please click here