Board of Directors

Executive Committee Officers (Elected Annually)

Azara Santiago Rivera, PhD
Professor Emerita
Merrimack College





AAHHE Chair-elect
Cristobal Rodriguez, PhD
Associate Provost for Equity-Centered Initiatives in Academic Affairs
Western Michigan University




AAHHE Immediate Past-Chair
Patrick L. Valdez, PhD
Visiting Professor, Educational Policy Studies & Evaluation
Program Chair, Senior Diversity Officer Certificate
University of Kentucky, College of Education


AAHHE Treasurer
Aurora Kamimura, PhD

Assistant Provost for Inclusive Excellence
Lecturer in Education, Arts & Sciences

Washington University in St. Louis


AAHHE Treasurer-elect
Marie T. Mora, PhD

Deputy Provost and Professor of Economics
Office of the Provost
Metropolitan State University of Denver





AAHHE Immediate Past-Treasurer
James Rodriguez, PhD
School of Social Sciences and Education
California State University, Bakersfield    





Board Members


Distinguished Professor Emerita
University at Albany, SUNY

Latin American, Caribbean, and US Latino Studies


Jeanett Castellanos, PhD
Professor of Teaching, Social Sciences
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies, Social Sciences
Director, Social Policy and Public Service major
University of California, Irvine


Associate Dean & Professor
University of Georgia



Antonio Durán, PhD
Early Career Member-at-Large
Assistant Professor
Arizona State University




Vice President
Community Engagement & Diversity Initiatives
Nevada State College


Julian Vasquez Heilig, PhD
Provost and Vice President
Western Michigan University





Carmen Martinez-López, PhD
Dean School of Business and Professional Careers
Westchester Community College
State University of New York




Gloria P Martinez-Ramos, PhD
Professor of Sociology, Director of the Center for Diversity and Gender Studies
Director of Latina/o Studies Program
Texas State University




Luis Ponjuán, PhD
Associate Professor
Educational Administration and Policy
Texas A&M University


Graduate Student Member-at-Large
Student Support Specialist
Graduate Student Mentorship Program
University of California, Riverside





Naomi Ramirez, MA
Graduate Student Member-at-Large
PhD student, Department of Education (in progress)
San Diego State University and Claremont Graduate University



Victor B. Saenz, PhD
Professor & Chair
Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
Executive Director, Project MALES
The University of Texas at Austin




Marissa Vasquez, EdD
Faculty/Administrator Member-at-Large
Associate Professor
San Diego State University




Mary Ann Villareal, PhD
Vice President, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
University of Utah





For AAHHE Founding Board Members, click here.

For past AAHHE Board Members, click here.


Revised August 1, 2023