Tomás Rivera Lecture Series

Sponsored by ETS (Educational Testing Services).

Each year a distinguished scholar or national leader is selected to present the Tomás Rivera Lecture. In the tradition of the Hispanic Caucus, AAHHE continues this series. Named in honor of the late Dr. Tomás Rivera, professor, poet and former president of the University of California, Riverside, this series highlights the keynote address delivered each year at the annual American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education (AAHHE) conference. Read more about Dr. Tomás Rivera here.

37th Annual Tomás Rivera Lecture, March 1, 2021, 1:00 - 1:45 pm ET
AAHHE National Conference

John B. King, Jr., JD
President and CEO, The Education Trust

John B.  King, Jr., JD is the president and CEO of The Education Trust, a national nonprofit organization that seeks to identify and close educational opportunity and achievement gaps. King served as U.S. Secretary of Education in the Obama administration. Prior to that role, King carried out the duties of Deputy Secretary, overseeing policies and programs related to P-12 education, English learners, special education, innovation and agency operations. King joined the department following his post as New York State Education Commissioner. King began his career as a high school social studies and middle school principal.


The ETS Policy Evaluation and Research Center is pleased to have published the following lectures:

Previous Lectures' Presenters:

  • 2008 Jamie P. Merisotis
  • 2007 Sonia Nazario
  • 2006 Michael A. Olivas
  • 2005 Raul Yzaguirre
  • 2004 Angela Oh
  • 2003 Piedad Robertson
  • 2002 Harold L. Hodgkinson
  • 2001 Félix Gutiérrez
  • 2000 David Hayes-Bautista
  • 1999 Jim Cummins
  • 1998 Samuel Betances
  • 1997 Albert H. Kauffman
  • 1996 Rolando Hinojosa Smith
  • 1995 Ronald Takaki
  • 1994 Norma Cantú
  • 1993 Gregory R. Anrig
  • 1992 Henry Cisneros
  • 1991 Toni Morrison
  • 1990 Tomás Arciniega
  • 1989 David Hamburg
  • 1988 Arturo Madrid
  • 1987 Ann Reynolds
  • 1986 Alfredo de los Santos Jr.
  • 1985 John Maguire