2025 AAHHE Awards Call for Nominations
Submission Deadline: Friday, September 6, 2024, 11:59pm EDT

AAHHE is proud to sponsor the 2025 AAHHE Awards!

The annual AAHHE Awards honor individuals who, through their expertise, energy, productivity, and contributions, have advocated, supported, and championed post-secondary education or careers in higher education in the Hispanic community.

The 2025 AAHHE Awards Call for Nominations is open for the following award categories:

The Alfredo G. de los Santos Jr. Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes distinguished leadership and long-standing sustained contributions to higher education that transcend the nominees’ respective institutions and have had a notable impact and recognition in the field at the state and/or national levels. Sponsored by The Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education.

The Books of the Year Awards acknowledge and honor the power of the written word to share the Hispanic experience, culture, history and research excellence. The Books of the Year Awards have a separate call for nominations at the end of summer each year.

The Community College Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated excellence in advocacy, teaching, or leadership and has provided significant contributions to the community college enterprise. The Community College Award has previously been sponsored by UPS.

The Doctoral Student Award recognizes current doctoral students who aspire to join the academy and demonstrate their academic accomplishments and servant leadership at their university.

The Early Career Award recognizes faculty or administrators who demonstrate commitment and promise via their actions, research, and service to the Latinx higher education community.

The Mildred García Founders' Award, given in the spirit of the extraordinary leadership, stewardship, and courage evidenced by the founding members of the American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education, honors an individual or organization demonstrating an exemplary commitment to advancing access and success of the Latinx population in higher education; evidencing a pioneering spirit in forging transformational avenues and inclusionary opportunities that support and promote Latinx issues; and achieving outstanding accomplishments aligned with AAHHE’s mission.

The Outstanding Support of Hispanic Issues Award recognizes an individual who has a long-standing record of visible and recognized leadership and other significant contributions that illustrate their continued endeavors as supporters and advocates of Hispanic issues in higher education. This individual need not be an educator but one who has made significant contributions to Hispanic higher education as a community leader, civic leader, elected or appointed official, etc.

The Sylvia Hurtado University Faculty Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated excellence in both research and teaching and has provided significant contributions to their respective academic disciplines.

The William Aguilar Cultural Arts Award recognizes individuals who have contributed significantly to the understanding of the national Latino community and/or culture through the fine, creative, and performing arts.

If you are interested in sponsoring one of the AAHHE Awards, please contact Dr. Lucia Gutiérrez at [email protected].

Nomination Process

The call for nominations for the 2025 AAHHE Awards opens on April 15, 2024. The deadline for submission of nominations via the AAHHE submissions portal is Friday, September 6, 2024. Nominees are encouraged to be AAHHE members, but membership is not required to apply. Self-nominations are encouraged. Current AAHHE Board of Directors members are ineligible to be nominated to the AAHHE Awards. Nominees will be notified by the end of September 2024.

How to Apply

A nomination form must be completed via the AAHHE submissions portal no later than Friday, September 6, 2024, by 11:59pm ET. At the end of the nomination form, individuals will be required to upload a 2-page max nomination letter (PDF) and the nominee’s resume or CV (PDF) as separate documents. The completion of the nomination form and the submission of nominations document need to be completed sequentially no later than Friday, September 6, 2024, by 11:59pm ET. Please ensure that you have all nomination materials ready as PDF documents before starting the nomination form on the portal.

Important Dates and Deadlines

The schedule below, in addition to providing important dates and deadlines, provides additional information about the process.

April 15. 2024
2025 AAHHE Awards Call for Nominations opens via the AAHHE submissions portal.

September 6, 2024, 11:59pm ET
2025 AAHHE Awards Call for Nominations closes. By this date, the nominee’s nomination letter and resume (or curriculum vitae) have been submitted via the AAHHE submissions portal.

October 4, 2024
Notifications are sent to award winners.

October 18, 2024
By this date, a 200-word maximum biography (MSWord) and a professional photo (JPEG) have been submitted for the award winner via an AAHHE submission portal (link will open at a later date).

February – March 2025
Announcements will be posted on the AAHHE website and press releases will go out to the AAHHE membership at large.

March 2025
Award winners will be recognized at the awards luncheon at the 2025 AAHHE National Conference and are required to be available either in-person or virtually to receive the award.

What recognition will be given to the winners?

Award winners will be presented with an AAHHE Award in March 2025 as they are recognized at the awards ceremony of the 2025 AAHHE National Conference. Award winners are required to be available either in-person or virtually to receive the award. Awardees unable to attend the awards ceremony will be linked virtually to the conference. If traveling to the 2025 AAHHE National Conference, no compensation will be provided for the registration fee, travel, lodging, etc.

If you have any questions about the competition, please contact [email protected].