2021 AAHHE Early Career Award

The AAHHE Early Career Award recognizes faculty or staff members who demonstrate commitment and promise via their actions, research, and service to the Latinx higher education community.


Inaugural 2021 AAHHE Early Career Award Recipient

Sarah Rodriguez, PhD
Associate Professor
Texas A&M University - Commerce

Sarah Rodriguez, PhD is an associate professor of Higher Education & Learning Technologies at Texas A&M University – Commerce. Dr. Rodriguez's research addresses issues of equity, access, and retention in higher education, with a focus on community colleges, Latina/o/x students, and students in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields. In her research practice, she concentrates on identifying and asking urgent questions about systemic inequities such as racism, sexism, and classism that marginalized communities continue to face as they transition to and through higher education. The cornerstone of her research agenda focuses on the intersectionalities experienced by Latina girls and women pursuing STEM fields and their effects on STEM identity development. As an early career scholar, Dr. Rodriguez has also established a national reputation as a talented grant-maker, research team leader, and collaborator. She has collaborated on several large-scale interdisciplinary research projects sponsored by the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Kapor Center, and the Center for the Study of Community Colleges.

As an early career scholar, she has published 30+ peer-reviewed articles in outlets such as the Journal of Hispanics in Higher Education, the Journal of Diversity in Higher Education, the Community College Review, and Teachers College Record as well as authored a host of book chapters and research/policy briefs. Dr. Rodriguez has delivered a multitude of peer-reviewed papers/presentations at national and state conferences, such as the Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE), the American Educational Research Association (AERA), and the Council for the Study of Community Colleges (CSCC). Read more...